Learn about the safe, effective COVID-19 vaccines and find where to get vaccinated at vaccine.ky.gov.
Jeff Taylor
Jeff Taylor
Business Development

Kentucky Cabinet for Economic Development

Boards & Commissions

Helping to ensure the state’s economic development efforts remain cutting edge and business focused, the Kentucky Cabinet for Economic Development is led by the Kentucky Economic Development Partnership Board, some of the Commonwealth’s most prominent business men and women. In addition, several state boards and commissions also support Kentucky’s efforts to improve the local workforce, encourage business growth and help small businesses succeed.

Partnership Board

Comprised of 13 public-private sector members, the Partnership Board provides strategic governance to the Cabinet. The Partnership Board provides oversight of strategic plans, goals and structure for the Cabinet. Current members include:

Voting Members

Governor Andy Beshear, Chairman
Commonwealth of Kentucky
Elizabeth McCoy
1st District
Fred Sipes
2nd District
Keith Hamilton
3rd District
Candace McGraw
4th District
Terry Forcht
5th District
Melinda "Lindy" Karns
6th District
James Ed Harris
James Lusk
Secretary Rebecca Goodman
Energy & Environmental Cabinet
Secretary Holly M. Johnson
Finance & Administration Cabinet
Secretary Ray Perry
Public Protection Cabinet
Secretary Jamie Link
Labor Cabinet

Non-Voting Members

Secretary Mike Berry
Tourism, Arts & Heritage Cabinet
Interim Secretary Larry Hayes
Economic Development Cabinet

Partnership Board Meeting Materials

The Kentucky Economic Development Finance Authority

The Kentucky Economic Development Finance Authority (KEDFA) is responsible for awarding most of the financial incentives offered by the Cabinet, including job growth and retention tax credit programs, loans, industrial revenue bonds, economic development bond grants and tax increment financing. Current board members are as follows:

Jean R. Hale, Board Chair
Chairman, President & CEO
Community Trust Bancorp, Inc.
Don Goodin, Vice Chair
Owner and Managing Partner
Lebanon Oak Flooring Co. LLC
Chad Miller, Asst Secretary Treasurer
LockNet, LCC
Tucker Ballinger, Secretary Treasurer
President & CEO
Forcht Bank
Mike Cowles
Chevron Corporation - Retired
Secretary Holly M. Johnson
Finance & Administration Cabinet
Naashom Marx
Senior Manager of Strategic Innovation
Kenton County Airport Board / CVG International Airport

Decisions from recent KEDFA board meetings are available here.

The Bluegrass State Skills Corporation

The Bluegrass State Skills Corporation (BSSC) oversees the approval of Skills Training Investment Credits and Grant-in-Aid projects to encourage workforce development in Kentucky. Current Members are as follows:

Jai Y. Bokey, BSSC Board Chair
V-Soft Consulting Group Inc.
Rita Combs-Sterrett
RCS Associates
Mrs. Shannon Cales
NuLease Medical Solutions, Healthcare Administration
Marty Hammons
Commissioner of Workforce Investment, Education and Workforce Development Cabinet
Jeff Whitehead, BSSC Executive Committee Member-at Large
Executive Director EKCEP, Inc.
Larry Hayes
Cabinet for Economic Development
Zach Weinberg
John Y. Kuzuoka, BSSC Secretary
School Administrator Sheet Metal Workers # 110, Retired
Gary Farmer
Kentucky Cabinet for Health & Family
Melanie Jane Ratliff
Paul Czarapata
President, KCTCS
Brenda Bankston, BSSC Vice Chair
Big Brothers Big Sisters of Kentuckiana
Dr. Aaron Thompson
Council on Postsecondary Education
Jamie W. Link
Secretary Kentucky Dept. of Labor
Jaqueline Coleman
Education and Workforce Development Cabinet
Nicholas Rapier, BSSC Treasurer,
Salt River Electric
Aimee Wulfeck
Dr. Houston Barber
Superintendent, Frankfort Independent School

The Commission on Small Business Innovation and Advocacy

The Commission on Small Business Innovation and Advocacy (CSBIA) is an independent state commission that serves as a voice for Kentucky’s small business community during the regulatory and legislative development process.

The Commission relies on the expertise of a thirteen-member board, appointed by the Governor. The board members represent a diverse and unique mix of small business owners and advocates. Each member has a deep appreciation of small business and a commitment to represent the specific needs of the small business community.

Current members are as follows:

Herbert L. McKee, Chair
Self Employed
Lesa Ann Seibert, Vice Chair
Dale Morgan
Lexington Fayette Urban County
Terra Leavell
Black Community Development
Sundeep Dronawat
West Wind Power
Todd Blume
Paducah Beer Works
Susan Hoechner
Barbara Stewart Interiors
Jeff Anderson
Self Employed
Robert Hudson
Frost Brown Todd, LLC
Larry Waddle
Metal Recycling Yard
Joshua Ravenscraft
New Frontier, Inc.
Do Business In KY